A New Combination of Medication Please

November 13, 2016

After 11 months of experimenting with various combinations of medications, the doctors still cannot find one that brings my pain below a 3 in a pain level of 0-5. I have gone to the ER twice in the last two weeks and my average pain level has been running higher than usual. I am anxious for my next appointment, hoping for a better med combination. I had also been given botox for the pain the first time September 01, 2016. I haven’t noticed a great improvement but was told that it may not be noticed until after the second round, which is scheduled for December 9th. I don’t know if you have ever had botox. I was told that the shots are like a bee sting. I received 30 shots in the neck and head; half way through I almost passed out! With my trigeminal and occipital neuralgias my head is very sensitive, therefore the shots were much more painful than usual. Needless to say, I am not overjoyed to go through this experience again but I will try anything if it might bring my head pain down below a 3. Here’s hoping it works…

These past few weeks has been very painful, as I had previously mentioned. Even-though, I decided to get myself moving again. I have been having so many down (bad) days that I haven’t gotten much exercise. I have gained about 30 pounds since this head pain started; pain medicine and lack of exercise are the greatest culprits. So, I started walking again. I walk my dog (Kira, a basenji) around the neighborhood. I have a goal of walking 3-4 times a week for at least 35 minutes. I wish I could get back to yoga but any position where I have to lower my head is not doable. Although I am a vegetarian, I struggle with my weight. My biggest problem is how hungry I always am. I feel like I have tried all of the tips and tricks to no avail. My doctors tell me not to worry about my weight right now but it is difficult not to think about it when the increased weight makes movement more difficult, besides I have plenty of time to think since I am unable to work or do much. 🙂

On a good note, my kids came to visit yesterday. We had such a good time talking and playing some games. We had a nice dinner together and I appreciated all of their help and company (my husband, Bob, was on a fishing trip). My family has been such a great support through all of this. Bob has done so much for me. I am very thankful to be able to rely on such awesome support. Being in pain all of the time makes me a little crabby at times and I forget to thank all of those who have helped and supported me. This is a good time to give a shout out to my Greenville Middle School family who brought dinners, gift cards, and gifts during my first few months of going through this process. I wouldn’t have gotten through without them. I am so blessed to have such wonderful family and friends in my life.

Leave a Reply

